The new blog for 2017 and a trip to the USA!

Proform

Well a belated happy new year to one and all. I certainly hope that the first blog of the new year finds you in good fettle. I won’t go into a long-winded story of how lame my blogging attempts were for 2016, we’ll just need to move on and quickly.

The truth of the matter is that using being too busy as an excuse not to chuck a few words down is just not really acceptable and I will be publishing on a much more frequent basis this year. The main reason for this is that my eye catchers report has taken off and I feel that I can certainly put some of the pieces and information from the report onto the blog without hindering it in any way.

There are currently a list of 101 horses that are on the interesting list as we move into 2017. About half of these will be saved for the turf later in the year, the other half I’m sure will start to appear on the all-weather over the coming weeks. Of the 101, there are approximately 20 horses that are on the VERY INTERESTING list. These are horses that have knocked my eye balls out and should be followed with real interest. I will do my best to put most of these on the blog, probably just before racing. This gives the clients that receive my eye catchers report more than adequate time to have any bets on that they want and I won’t ruffle any feathers.

Amongst the 101 horses I’m currently monitoring, there is a list of 27 that are “horses to follow” for 2017 and of those, a list of approximately 10 that would be outstanding purchases. If you are on the look out for a horse for your club, or owners, I’m sure these may be of interest to you.

I know from when I was a frequent blogger that many of you liked the daily stats and Proform bits and pieces. I will do my very best to add these into the daily ramblings too. Now from almost all of my previous on here you will also recall that I am almost always a flat man. I do watch and to a degree get involved in jumps racing, but nowhere near the level on the flat. That is not to say that I do not put horses in to the eye catchers over timber, in fact one went in to the report yesterday. Just be aware that I do operate at about 95% Flat to 5% jumps.

Over the next month or so I will also be putting together my Horses to Follow list for 2017. Probably around about horses for the upcoming flat turf season that should be profitable to follow.

At the back end of 2016 I had for the first time the opportunity to go racing in the US. I attended a Friday afternoon card at Belmont Park whilst I was in New York and then had the pleasure of attending the Breeders Cup at Santa Anita for the first time. It was a real eye opener and a terrific experience.

img_3836

img_3837

 Here are a couple of pictures from my visit to Belmont Park. It is a huge place. An amazing racecourse. On a mid-week meeting like this is was a bit of a shell of a place as there were literally no more than 1000 punters there on the day. The one thing that did impress me was that it was simply $4 for entry.

img_3838

 I was lucky enough to spend both the Friday and the Saturday at the Breeder’s Cup at Santa Anita. It was a great experience and it is such a beautiful setting. It was a priveledge to be on the winning line as California Chrome and Arrogate did battle up the lane. Here are just a  few of the pics from the two days in Arcadia……

img_4110

img_4111

img_4113

img_4114

img_4115

img_4116

img_4117

img_4122

img_4123

img_4130

Frankie on Queens Trust…. was trying to capture the flying dismount wiht about 50 others!

img_4144

And here is the champ……

Really was a trip of a lifetime. If you have never been I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Ok back to the video study for me! There are no flat horses for Friday but I do have a couple for you to stick into your various trackers for the jumps and one going to Doncaster.

All the best

MG

Proform

