Thursdays Blog!

Proform

Apologies for the lack of bloggage over the last few days. My schedule at this time of year is hectic and I simply haven’t had the time! I am actually writing this on Wednesday night just before I hit the sack as I have such a busy day again tomorrow!

I will be up bright and early as I am off to Jamie Poulton’s yard down in Sussex to see our new colt that we have taken a healthy share in. He is by Sakhee and will be hopefully be making his racecourse debut in a couple of weeks time!

Last week was quite tough. We hit the crossbar several times and had plenty that ranpoorly. I suppose on the back of such a good run that was always likely to be the case. I liked two quite strongly today (weds) and they both won well. I didn’t have the time to write about them in the morning but those of you that tuned into Timeform Radio would have heard how strongly I liked them! Monel would surprisingly easily and he is also entered on Thursday. He will  be no sort of price now and the cat is out the bag.

There is a distinct lack of trainers being flagged up on the win and place strike rate hot list from Proform. They are as follows:

Amanda Perrett 66.67%

John Gosden 54.05%

Malcom Jefferson 50%

Highie Morrison 50%

I have always set the bar with this stat at a minimum of 8 or 10 runners in the previous 14 days. This largely ignores smaller yards that can be in form so I have run this separately of one or two trainers have caught my eye this week:

Ron Hodges 75% (4runners)

John Davies 66.67% (3 runners)

Lydia Richards 66.67% (3 runners)

Seamus Durack 66.67% (6 runners)

Ed De Giles 66.67% (3 runners)

Chris Down 66.67% (6 runners)

John Bridger 60%

I hope in one way or another these figures point you in the direction of a winner or two! If you haven’t had a chance to check out Proform yet then you must do so. It is an essential part of any professionals day to day punting now and you will see why once you scratch the surface. Click on the image at the top of the blog and it will link you directly to the website. Simon will be happy to answer any questions that you may have.

Ok on to today and a few that I actaully fancy quite strongly.

First up is BALLYBOUGH GORTA (4.50 Wetherby) who has been most progressive over the last few seasons when given good ground or faster and has climbed a good 56lbs in the weights as a result. Over the winter he has been highly tried in decent races (Sussex and Scottish Nationals) mostly in bad ground which he would have hated. Back on a decent surface today in the weakest race he has run in for a long time (down to class 3) he must have a great chance with the Bowen/Moore combination also firing on all cylinders recently. There are some double figure prices floating about tonight so he should be backed provided there is not too much overnight rain!

BALLYBOUGH GORTA 2 pts win @ 10/1

The first of my two very strong fancies is RUSSIAN REALM (3.50 Goodwood) who looks a pattern performer waiting to happen. He was beaten at Ascot on his re-appearance by the horse we backed that day (Ishikawa) and has been raised 3lbs for the privilege of being beaten. He travelled like the best horse in the race for a long way and if you could give Ryan the ride back again he might not have given the winner so much rope. The drop back a furlong should work the oracle here and I expect Ryan to be extra clinical here today on this beautifully bred colt.

RUSSIAN REALM 4 pts win @ 2/1 (BOG)

The other one on the day is PERFECT MUSE (5.35 Goodwood) who looks a really well handicapped filly to me. Adam Kirby had to get after her a bit earlier than he wanted on her re-appearance at Bath (when she was heavily punted) and she hit the front a bit earlier than I believe he wanted too and got swamped on the line when he thought he had the race in the bag. The extra furlong here should help her travel into the race kindly and if Ryan Tate times it well I fully expect her to win.

PERFECT MUSE 4 pts win @ 15/8 (BOG)

Neither of the two are big prices but I expect them all to run well so for extra interest we will play the following multiples too:

Russian Realm/Perfect Muse 2 pts win double

Russian Realm/Perfect Muse/Ballybough Borta 1 pt win trixie (4 pts)

I hope you all have a lovely day! And lets bag some winners!

All the best

MG

Proform

