Flat is back and so are we…….

Proform

Greetings good people. I thought it was about time that we got the old blog back into some form of daily entertainment. To be fair I have missed getting the usual daily mumbles out the way so it will give me an avenue to talk about what we all love so much…..the sport of kings.

Cheltenham was a good one for me this year despite leaving the crossbar in pieces several times. I had more 2nd’s at the festival than I care to remember but Champagne Fever, Katgary, Southfield Theatre and Smad Place were the ones that hurt the most. Moving on from that you could not be any more impressed with what we saw from Faugheen at Punchestown the other day. He surely now will be campaigned towards the champion hurdle with all thoughts of chasing firmly on the back burner.

One other note to take from the NH season is that actually SGT Reckless turned out to be a genuine grade one hurdler…..so this still leaves me with great hope that West Wizard will actually turn out to be very good.

Moving on and more ante-post misery for me this morning as the news that My Titania will miss the 1000 Guineas due to a dirty scope. I really like her and I hope she is back racing maybe in time for the Irish Guineas, but another ante-post voucher has been added to the pile of documents to be shredded.

I’m off to cover the late shift on @Timeformradio this evening so I will be nice and brief today.

Top five trainers from Proform over the last 14 days based on their win and place strike rate….

Warren Greatrex 50% SR and 78.57% win and place SR (14 runners)

Clive Cox 29.41 % SR and 64.71% win & place (17 runners)

Gary Moore 31.82% SR and 59.09 win % place (22 runners)

Michael Dods 33.33% SR and 55.56% win & place (18 runners)

John Bridger 11.11% SR and 55.56% win & place (9 runners)

I have three interesting horses to watch out for today two of which are in the same race. They are WHERE’S TIGER and PETERGATE who go in the 5.05 at Redcar. The formers opening handicap mark of 57 will surely underestimate his ability. Not entirely sure today will be the day as it is an OK race for the grade but he was given an interesting ride on his re-appearance at Newcastle and I would expect him to be winning sooner rather than later. Petergate may also be a longer term project as he has shaped like he wants further than a mile, although the pedigree doesn’t scream ten furlongs. They are both big enough prices to be tempted in again mind you against the field as they are 8/1 and 12/1 respectively.

The other one that is being followed is EDDIEMAURICE (3.55 Redcar). I won’t tell you exactly what my notes say to save a law suit but he is being trained with a punt in mind I have no doubt. Keep an eye on how he is ridden today.

Right I must get to the station!

Good to be back, all re-tweets, comments etc are always welcome and appreciated!

All the best

MG

Proform

