Derby weekend preview!

pro5

Well a very good evening campers. What an enjoyable day today was (apart from England’s performance at Lords). Absolutely delighted for Ralph Beckett for his one-two in the Oaks this afternoon. I had the pleasure of interviewing Ralph on the phone on Timeform Radio yesterday and he was a pleasure to speak to and  very pleased with both of his filly’s going into today. If you were listening it was a classic radio moment as myself and Rory (Delargy) were discussing Talent at the time that our producer put the call live. I think Rory is now off Ralph’s Christmas card list but on a brighter note, I doubt he cares tonight.

I have to say that I do feel for a lot of my colleagues who were all on Secret Gesture at massive prices months ago. For what it’s worth I think she still might actually be a better filly that talent, things just didn’t quite go her way today. It would have been a very interesting finish had she got first run and a clearer passage. Still there is no doubt that they were quite clearly the two best horses in the race.

A terrific result from my horses to follow list today too as JUST PAUL won at Catterick. Most of you will know that he’s been on the radar for some time. I’ve had to be pretty patient as he went on the list last year. The SP of 14/1 was beautiful.The only other selection today was HELL HATH NO FURY. A nightmare passage down on the inside having slightly missed the break and midge had to sit and suffer to a degree. She looks on a nice mark and I’m sure it won’t be long before the losses are recouped.

I have a full weekend of cricket to take care of so I will not be around so I’ve spent the evening going through tomorrow’s cards and I have managed to come up with a couple of selections. One is fairly obvious.

I will start things off in the Woodcote Stakes (2.05 Epsom). Kodiac’s two-year olds have made a magical start to 2013 with 11 wins from 36 runs and he has two in here that are both of major interest to me. The likely short priced favourite will be Richard Hannon’s Thunder Strike but I think there is reason to take him on as from all the runners he has beaten in his two starts only one of them has even managed to place since. He may be smart but he is much too short. I really like the look of HAIKBIDIAC who’s available to back at 9/2 on Betfair this evening and I think he might be a bit shorter come post time. He won well on debut before looking like 5f was a bit too sharp on his second start. This step up to six should really suit and he has the added assistance of Ryan Moore and a good draw in stall 4. I expect Ryan may track Richard Hughes early and pounce late. I will be having a saver on MONEY TEAM for Bill Turner. He was really well backed last week ahead of his smooth victory and I think he might be up to this step up in class. He’s available to back tonight on Betfair at about 17.5 and that will do nicely.

I will take great pleasure in watching St Nicholas Abbey winning the Coronation Cup again as he is one of my favourite horses in training.

I managed to narrow the dash down to about 3 or 4 but couldn’t find any value anywhere as the ones I like are towards the head of the market. If you had to put a gun to my head I would probably side with Captain Dunne but it is wide open. If you fancy LONG AWAITED you are probably going to have no finger nails by the end of the race as Hughesy is going to have to pull out one of his master classes! Good luck!

The Investec Derby 4.00 Epsom

A race that revolves around the stamina of DAWN APPROACH. Jim Bolger’s unbeaten colt comes here on the back of being very strong at the finish in the 2000 Guineas, as he has been in most of his races. His sire New Approach’s progeny are proving to be stout stayers but it is on the Dam side that the doubts are being bantered about. His dam (Hymn Of The Dawn) raced five times over 6-8f and finished with a rating of 73 (not deserved). She is by the US bred PHONE TRICK who was a classy sprinter and who’s own progeny have never won a race over 9 furlongs.

I for one think he will stay. He has a classy way of travelling through his races and the downhill section of the course at Epsom will come at a time when a lot of these will be pressing the button. As a result I think that Kevin will be able to sit on the bridle for much longer than he would normally want too and then he can use the unbeaten colt’s class to get him home.

On a line through Sugar Boy the disparity in the market between Battle of Marengo and GALILEO ROCK is stupid. GR has been crying out for at least a mile and a half and as such I think he represents a degree of interest in the Betfair place market. He might well be a St Leger horse later in the year and the 8.6 about him to place with a small win saver has to go in the book aswell.

I think Dawn Approach will win mind and he goes down as a maximum as he continues to drift.

Disappointed with England today at Lords. I can’t see why Jade Dernbach still gets in the side. Yes he has a good slower ball but most frontline bowlers do. He’s a good T20 addition but he is not a one day frontline bowler. It brought back some great memories watching the game today having played at Lords in the National Village Cup final two years ago. The road back there continues this Sunday in the Regional Semi Final.

The conference finals in the NHL get underway tomorrow too and the Bruins travel to Pittsburgh for games one and two so a couple of late nights are in order! Let’s go BRUINS!

I trust you’ll all have a an excellent weekend. Be lucky, back plenty of winners.

MG

pro5

Leave a Reply

