The sabattical is over!

pro5

Hello campers! I’ll kick off with massive apologies for the lack of posting over the last month or so! Work, social and sporting life gets very hectic at this time of year which has taken up a lot of my time. I’m committed to playing league cricket at the weekend so I have to cram my freelance broadcast commitments into the week so I spend my life travelling from Monday-Friday at this tie of year. My laptop that has finally stuck its middle finger up at me after 4 years of abuse. Writing a blog on an Iphone is not cool and absolutely kills your eyes.

What have we missed? Well Dawn Approach looks just about unbeatable. He might not even need to truly stay a mile and a half to be winning the derby next weekend. I was far from impressed by Battle of Marengo and he would have to improve two stone on that to win a Derby in my opinion. I am still not quite over my massive failure in the Oaks market. My colleagues at Timeform have been beating the drum about Secret Gesture for about 6/7 months! Some are on at 33/1……now if I’m still keen I can take 11/4! I think the ship has well and truly sailed there, but I hope she goes on and wins next Friday. The nightclubs and strip joints in Halifax won’t know what has hit them next Friday if she does.

Elsewhere Sir Michael Stoute has made a cracking start to the season and it is good to see. As a result Ryan Moore has made a flying start too. He was absolute class at York last week. His pace judgement really is outstanding. I will be cheering him all the way to November (on at 7/2 for JC) but don’t tell anyone.  Richard Fahey’s older handicappers made their usual flying start and helped bolster the coffers for a few weeks. They have also had 6 first time out juvenile winners  in the last week or so.

As usual I have plenty of eye-catchers to pick up on but we will get to them as and when they actually run!

Elsewhere the mighty hammers had a pleasing end to the season. To finish tenth in our first season back is a really good effort and our home form was absolute class. IF we can become more of a threat away from home then will can only improve. 33 points at home, 13 on the road, that’s a big disparity. The fact that Big Sam has been given a new contract means that the club has to do everything in its power to keep Andy Carroll. I have heard some worrying rumours about potential replacements for him (including Crouchy) which just don’t fit in very well. All in all though pleased with what we achieved. Two home draws against united, we also drew with Man City and beat Chelsea. Upton Park once again is a place that the big boys don’t fancy coming.

For those of you that don’t know I’m also a big US Sports nut (how long till the NFL kicks off??) I’m a big Boston Bruins fan in the NHL and I woke all my neighbours when they came back from 4-2 down with a minute to play in game 7 against the Maple Leafs the other night to win 5-4. Check out the videos if you haven’t seen them…..its amazing!

I’m off on the pilgrimage up to Coral TV towers today so I will miss much of the day’s racing action. I know that Kim Bailey’s team have always been keen on TWELVE ROSES (5.35 Towc) and he is being backed again. It was disappointing he got beat at odds on last time but the front two did pull well clear. I think they might not see which way MARODIMA goes in the 6.35. Several hold up horses in the race and he might be gone before they decide to press any buttons.

KANDARI (6.50 Ponte) looks really interesting. Given the yards exploits in recent weeks he still looks a well handicapped horse on the flat and the booking of Richard Hughes is very taking. I think he might win and I think that MISSION APPROVED is about as certain to win as I am to fall asleep tonight. He’s evens but should be 1/2.

Welcome back to the blog. Will be here most days from here on in!

Be lucky!

MG

pro5

Leave a Reply

