Cheltenham Festival Day 4!

Proform

Well yesterday was a punters nightmare. If you managed to find a winner at all you probably had a good day. My list of placeditis this week has been horrendous! Check out these bad boys with decent wagers…

My Tent Or Yours 2nd @ 5/2,  Tullamore Dew 4th @33/1, Shangani 4th @ 8/1, Rule The World 2nd @ 7/1, Meister Eckhart 2nd @ 14/1, Regal Encore 2nd @ 7/1, Dynaste 2nd @ 7/4, Captain Sunshine 2nd @ 20/1, Smad Place 3rd @ 12/1, Romanesco 3rd @ 10/1, Alfie Sherrin 4th @ 10/1!

Now if I backed place only this week I would be rich! As it is I’ve left the crossbar in a million pieces on the turf!

Friday is a day to savour though as we head for the gold cup! Todays run down will be brief as I am on the go all day!

In the Triumph at 1.30 I think this will be battled out between OUR CONNOR and ROLLING STAR. I do also really like Far West but the yard’s runners with the exception of Celestial Halo have run poorly all week and that would be a major worry. At a price KASHMIR PEAK could also run a big race! I would probably split my stakes between the front two in the market as I cannot split them.

The County Hurdle at 2.05 looks an absolute minefield! I can see why Cotton Mill is the jolly but I have to recommend a decent each way wager on CLARET CLOAK. The yard have not been in good form but Captain Sunshine gave that a boost yesterday and the booking of Noel Fehily in the absence of Dominic Elseworth is a massive plus. I have no doubt at all that he is much better than 135 and he actually made up a lot of ground from an impossible and stupid starting position in a slowly run Betfair Hurdle behind My Tent Or Yours at Newbury. The drying ground is a massive plus too and I cannot recommend a decent bet on him enough. Probably the best value bet of the whole week at 20/1 but let’s be honest it’s a race full of potential blots.

The Albert Bartlett at 2.40 is another interesting race. AT FISHERS CROSS will be hard to beat. He looks really gutsy but his price reflects that. I’ll be backing two against the field in BALLYCASEY and AFRICAN GOLD who’s yards have both had excellent weeks.

THE CHELTENHAM GOLD CUP @ 3.20 is a fascinating renewal. Last years 2nd and 3rd re-appear in the form of The Giant Bolster and Long Run but I think they may end up playing second fiddle to the young guns here. BOBS WORTH is absolutely rock solid after a superb win in the Hennessy. He stays all day and I think this race is going to suit him down to the ground. Silviniaco Conti comes here on the back of three terrific wins this season and looks an absolute natural over his fences. The yards form this week would be  slight doubt bu the race will suit and he looks sure to be involved in the finish. SIR DES CHAMPS went to the head of the betting for this when winning the Jewson impressively last year. He should stay but I do wonder if he is quick enough against a couple of these? The loss of Davy Russell is a blow too. Of the others the one I would play each way would be CAPE TRIBULATION who has matured massively this season. Denis gets on with him really well and his quietly quietly approach out the back here might pay some big dividends if they take each other on up front. I’ve backed Bobs Worth and had a decent each way bet on Cape Tribulation! Enjoy!

The foxhunter’s rarely entices me into a bet but my experts ensure me that Salsify is a certainty. (ok).

EDEYMI is another one I have been waiting for in the Martin Pipe at 4.40. He has been absolutely plotted up for this by Tony Martin and has been crying out for the step up in trip. He looks on a really good mark and is a cracking bet at 8/1!

The last looks an absolute nightmare as far as get out stakes go but RODY comes here in great form and is improving rapidly over fences and will do for me hopefully at the end of a card where we have already won a fortune and will be sipping champagne!

Enjoy a great day!

MG

Leave a Reply

