Saturday 19th January

pro5

19 days into my 151 day marathon and I’m hurting! Things are starting to take shape at the gym and I feel myself getting into a rhythm but its bloody hard work. 10lbs in the first two weeks though has been a cracking result and is a big incentive to really kick on. Already been to the gym for three hours this morning, I nearly nodded off in the jacuzzi after!

One or two things to pick up on from the week. Firstly the FA have decided to punish Sam Allerdyce for his comments about Phil Dowd after the FA CUP replay at Manchester United in the week. Well I hate to think what my punishment from the FA would have been if they had heard my comments. His performance was nothing short of staggering. Now you may think that I am talking through tinted glasses; well of course I am. I bleed claret and blue, but even the united fans I know agreed. He is weak and scared of Fergie. Rant over. It actually was a real shame as United were there for the taking and we just didn’t take advantage. Players panicked in the final third and not taking advantage of some excellent break aways. Carlton Cole had one of those days where he decided to basically not get out of bed. I understand that the guy has no real interest in football and doesn’t really have a desire to play but it was an FA CUP tie against the biggest club in the world under lights……….I would have given my left knee to start!

Another thing to pick up on was a debate the my old pal Paul Jacobs started on Timeform Radio about the current state of the stewarding on British racing and that he believes we should be using full-time stewards. I have to say I totally agree as there is so much brushed under the carpet under the current regime.

Obviously the weather has played havoc with the racing again this weekend with only Kempton surviving this afternoon. It is very average fare aswell with most of the races being class 6 handicaps. On the whole card I have managed to muster up one bet and that is TOGA TIGER (2.20). Jeremy Gask’s gelding has done nothing but improve over the last 12 months and he did very well to win last time back from a break. He has only been raised 2lbs in the weights which is largely offset by the jockeys claim and I think he is worth backing to continue the progress. Light From Mars is a big danger and has to be respected and I may stick a money back saver on him.

Lots of  stuff coming up over the next couple of days. I will be taking a good look at the Conference Championship games in the NFL tomorrow. I will also start to preview the Cheltenham Festival festival race by race. Everyday my eye seems to be drawn to the festival markets trying to see if there is any obvious value anywhere! I will do my best to eek out the best before posting.

Enjoy today. Wish I was with the other members of the family who have all gone to Upton Park to see the hammers get three points.

I’m on the late show on Coral TV.  Be lucky!

MG

Leave a Reply

