Thursday 10th January

pro5

Day 10. Well yesterday produced a really good result. The first weigh in and I’m down 6lbs in the first week. Deep down I suppose I wanted a really big number to kick-start things but I shouldn’t grumble. The maths work out that I have to lose 3lbs a week over the five months to hit the 70lb target. So I already have 3lbs in the savings satchel so to speak!

It was nice to see Charming finally win yesterday. He scrambled home in a messy race but having taken slightly bigger than 4/1 he has more than paid for his previous defeats. There were one or two comedy rides across all the venues yesterday. There was one piece of very questionable riding spotted at Ludlow. I will be keeping a keen eye on the said beast to see where and what he is entered in.

My only selection of the day today is RED SOMERSET (6.45 Kempton). It certainly isn’t a strong pick by any means, I just thought that his price this morning was way out of line. A very consistent ten-year old that hasn’t been out of the first two in any of his last nine starts. He travelled really well on his return from seven months off the track when finishing second a couple of weeks ago. There is every reason to believe he would have come on for that run and better can be expected today. He has to deal with some unexposed youngsters in here but should be cherry ripe and he has won off higher marks in the past so the double figure odds are much too big in my view and we should get a decent run for our money.

I’ll be missing the afternoon action today as I’ll be on the road.

Be lucky!

MG

Leave a Reply

