Wednesday 9th January

pro5

Day 9. Well a full cardio session last night left me in pieces but after 8 days I am starting to get into the rhythm of things and a little more confident. Today is weigh-in day though so that could all change a little later! Fingers crossed.

Really looking forward to seeing Overturn over fences again this afternoon. He jumped beautifully at Sandown and although no sort of betting proposition, it will be fascinating to watch all the same.

I’ve backed PERCYTHEPINTO (1.30 Ling). The 7f at Kempton last time was just all too quick for him last time. This track seems to suit him a little better and the step up in trip may well bring about a bit of improvement.

I have also given another chance to DERWENTWATER (2.40 Ling). He got messed about both at the start and mid race here last time and with a clear run probably would have won. He looks fairly treated on what I have seen so far and I’ve backed him accordingly. Obviously there is always slight concern when money comes for a David Evans runner on the sand and the favourite HANDSOME STRANGER has been very well backed on handicap debut after four lacklustre efforts in maidens. I’m happy to take him on at the prices.

It feels like I am giving several runners last chance saloons at the turn of the year and that is certainly the case with CHARMING (3.45 Ling). He has never been a really strong fancy as he has started at some massive prices. He has shown on a few occasions that he is fairly treated and ready to win and I’ll give him one last chance today. He’s about 4/1 at the moment.

My last bet of the afternoon comes over at Ludlow where I have backed CEEPEEGEE (1.20). It’s a bit of a flyer but he’s back to his last winning mark and there have been a couple of signs the last twice that he is not far from having his turn again. The 10/1 this morning is probably a bit too big!

Nothing stood out for me at Kempton this evening.

Be lucky!

MG

Leave a Reply

