Saturday 1st December – Hennessy Gold Cup!

Proform

A really busy Saturday of sporting action today. We’ve got darts, snooker, rugby, football and of course the glue that sticks the day together in the racing. I have to say I’m very disappointed with the turn out of runners for the Fighting Fifth Hurdle although I suppose the forecast bad ground has been the major factor. A great piece of placing by Brian Ellison with Bothy who at worst will pick up £5.5k for finishing 4th…

We will start at Newbury and if you have read the preview blog you will know that we are already on Hold On Julio, Duke of Lucca and Harry the Viking in the feature race of the day so we have nothing more to add to the portfolio there.

For what it is worth I think CALL ME A STAR is a good thing in the 12.50 and have backed him accordingly. I have also had a one point bet on FIFTYONEFIFTYONE (3.40) although he has been put up by Pricewise. He is still 14/1 with SportingBet.

As always though it seems at the moment my two main bets of the day come at Wolverhampton this evening. I like the look of a couple each way at Dunstal Park with possibly the stronger of the two coming in the form of FORTUNATE BID (8.50). He has been knocking on the door for a couple of runs now and hasn’t quite been getting the best of things. The fact that Graham Lee has come back in for the ride this evening is a real plus and I think he is set to run a real big race and the 7/1 available this morning is much too big so I’m on each way.

I have also backed LEGAL EAGLE (9.20) each way in the lucky last. He is a horse that has been on my radar for a long time that has been messed about over various trips and races. This might just be the right race for him finally and the 12/1 that was available this morning was just much too tempting!

Got to travel back down south after I finish at 12.30 this afternoon so I will be watching all the action on catch up later whilst listening to West Ham and Chelsea on the radio! Really think we are a big price today and we might pull off a result! COYI

Good luck with all your bets today, I hope it’s a quality day. Good luck to the Batch on Carruthers in the big one today!

MG

Leave a Reply

