Tuesday 16th October – I’m on fire!

Apologies for the lack of posting yesterday. It came as a result of late night NFL watching on Sunday night followed by leaving at 6.45am on Monday to get up to the Turf TV studios! I was working with the legend that is John Myers yesterday and I arrived to the news that his flat had no water due to a burst water main and he’d just had a “dry shower and shave” in the disabled loo. The day could only get better. Punters tuning into Turf yesterday would have come to the conclusion that we knew what we were talking about as with the 15 races covered at Salisbury and Mussleburgh we gave out ten winners and a 33/1 second. This punditry lark is easy………

Sunday’s NFL action was easy watching as both selections came in (again). Stafford scraped over 275 yards (278) but then the Giants demolished the 49ers. They are a hot and cold team the Giants but they always step up when playing a team that are considered to be better than them, especially away from home. They won 26-3 and I would just like to extend a thank you to the person on Betfair that layed me the 40/1 after week 2. I missed last nights game, I tried to stay up but lost the battle with shut-eye just before kick off, still that leaves me in better shape for today.

I come with some slightly sad news on the racing front. I have been asked to write/tip for a long-standing tipping service from November 1st, so I may have to stop putting my selections on the blog. Nothing has been agreed to date, but I will keep you informed of what is happening.

Many of you will remember my comments regarding NOW SPUN (4.40 Leicester) on debut. He was a massive eyecatcher and given a very strange ride on a quiet Saturday night at Wolverhampton. He will obviously come on a bundle for that and I was hoping that he might be available at a bigger price this morning. He is drifting as a couple of others in the race have been backed but at 5/2 I can’t be backing him. I will watch with interest.

After the whole Art Scholar debacle I feel obliged that we should give LORD PAGET another chance tonight at Wolverhampton (7.50). He is dropping down the weights and has shown hints on his last three starts that there is a race to be had. He was slowly away last time and never got into the race but Jack Duern was keen not to let him get too close in the home straight and I think he will pop up at a big price at some point. He might want 7 furlongs too but at the price I’m prepared to give him another couple of chances.

1 pt e/w @ 25/1 with Hills and StanJames but if you hold off he may be enormous prices on betfair later in the day so you can adjust your stake accordingly.

I’m off to Timeform Radio to cover the Wolverhampton card this evening. I’m taking over from the wonderful Gina Bryce at about 6.10 this evening so tune in!
Be lucky today!

MG

 

Leave a Reply

