Saturday 13th Oct – Future Champions Day!

So I’ve finally got the ball rolling. The editor of the Racingpost (Bruce Millington) tweeted me last night. What he doesn’t know is he was tweeting his future champion tipster. It seems I need to start being a big more controversial in my column. So I might start throwing the odd swear word into it. Ok, I’ll start by saying England were shit last night. What on earth were all those  morons doing last night clogging up my Twitter feed with England will score ten goals? We know we are average, lets stop being silly.

Well what a feast of racing we have today. The future champions take centre stage at Newmarket and some potential jumping superstars will make an appearance at Chepstow as the jumping season gets underway.

As always with a big Saturday you have to stick your neck out as these are days that you can get tucked in and come out potless, so the task for the day has been to find plenty of value. Really looking forward to seeing Dawn Approach in the Dewhurst who looks a real class act, but possibly more so I can’t wait to see Fingal Bay going over fences. He potentially could be top drawer now going over the bigger obstacles.

BRAE HILL – 3.45 YORK 1 PT EACH WAY @ 25/1.

I feel compelled to give Brae Hill one more chance after last week. Most of you will know that I was very keen on him at Ascot last week but he missed the break and ran no sort of race at all. I am always prepared to forgive a horse a bad run at Ascot. He has been dropped a pound as a result and as he has conditions to suit once again he becomes of real interest at a massive price. The yard have had a good week and I think he’s a player.

3.35 NEWMARKET – BETFRED CESAREWITCH

A real good renewal of the fiendishly difficult handicap over two and a quarter miles. There are many possibilities and there has been a morning gamble on the Pricewise selection Montaser. Personally I like to give the three-year olds a bit of a swerve in this race as they have a poor record. Although I respect the connections I feel all his best efforts have been on better ground so I’m happy to let him go.

I like the jumping angle here. National hunt horses have a very good record (50% last 16 years) and therefore I think there are a couple that are over priced. COUNTRYWIDE FLAME would be my selection for the race. He has a good draw in 7 for a horse that likes to press the pace, John Quinn left it clear he had left plenty to work with prior to the victory at Chester. Only raised 4lbs for that win, the second has come out and run well since. If he transfers his hurdles form here today he will be very touch to beat. Along similar lines with 5/6 places being paid in places I think that STORMY WEATHER and SENTRY DUTY are both massive prices for those that like a biggy.

COUNTRYWIDE FAME 2 PTS E/W @ 9/1, STORMY WEATHER & SENTRY DUTY 0.5PTS EACH WAY @ 40/1.

BALTIC PRINCE – 8.15 WOLVERHAMPTON – 2 PTS EACH WAY @ 16/1 with  BETVICTOR

A real eyecatcher last time that went firmly into the notebook. Ran a solid third off 51 over this course and distance a week ago having possibly not had the clearest of runs. He clearly has ability on the back of that and I think he represents real value tonight. Paul Green’s colt has been raised a pound for that effort last week but also has the assistance tonight of the excellent Darren Egan who claims five which means he gets in here off such a light weight. This is a slightly better grade and there are one or two progressive ones but that is factored into the price and I think he is absolutely the bet of the day!

A real busy few days, I’m on Coral TV this afternoon then shooting straight back to the coast this evening in time to see Baltic Prince win!

Hope you have a winning day today. Might check back later if anything else crops up!

Be lucky!

MG

Leave a Reply

