11th October – Art Scholar bites my arse!

I wish I had woken up this morning to find out it was Wednesday again. Having seen that Art Scholar was entered on both Wednesday and Friday I had come to the crazy conclusion that Friday would be the day. Why? Well it was an apprentice handicap and Simon Walker had been booked. Say no more. Couple that with the fact that yesterday’s race looked quite hot for the grade, I had a feeling that he would just been held up and sufficient effort would be made to get close without winning. How wrong can you be! About two furlongs out the tones of Mike Cattermole saying “Art Scholar is cruising down the outside” meant only one thing. Yesterday was the day. Having drifted like a barge all day long (touched 50’s on Betfair) he returned at a BF SP of 45.8 and yes, I didn’t have a bean on. The barrage of texts and messages that followed asking how much I’d had on just twisted the knife.

There are many upsides to this. Obviously my method of winner finding is still going very strong, almost all of my analysis is done through video study, which I know varies from many racing experts but it is a method that serves me well. What I need to do really is establish a very solid method from this point. I’m edging towards backing them blind for the next three runs, as if you miss races out for certain reasons, you will miss winners at big prices and in the long run that will damage profit massively.

The main upside will be that many of my blog readers and Twitter followers did keep the faith and all managed to get on. Well done to all. In hindsight it was a knocking bet and he has subsequently been taken out fo the race at York tomorrow, balls.

I was incredibly disappointed with Hazy Tom at Towcester too. He pulled a little too much and was actually probably given a little too much to do, but in reality he wasn’t good enough on the day. I think he will be a different proposition on a speed track like Kempton and I would not be surprised if that is where he turns up next.

Performance of the day definitely goes to Tamarkuz (8.00 Kemp). He was subject of significant money most of the day and although being trapped 4/5 horses wide all the way round he routed his rivals of a mark of 82. He is entered at Goodwood on Sunday and looks significantly better than his mark.

I have a busy day of video reviews today. None of the eyecatchers list are running so no interest.

Be lucky!

MG

 

 

Leave a Reply

